Big Walnuts Yonder Review // Power Of Pop

Big Walnuts Yonder is bassist/vocalist Mike Watt (Minutemen, The Stooges), guitarist Nels Cline (Wilco, Nels Cline Singers), drummer Greg Saunier (Deerhoof) and guitarist/vocalist Nick Reinhart (Tera Melos). It is not a supergroup. “It’s worlds colliding,” says Mike Watt.

What it is, is a magnificent collection of songs where four talented musicians tap on their indisputable abilities to create vibrant and exciting art-rock.

This is clearly apparent from the first two tracks viz. the funky “All Against All” and the spacey “Sponge Bath” and its hell for leather for the other eight songs.

The energy is palpable and the chemistry is irresistible as this refreshing free-wheeling alternative rock music keeps twisting and turning with sonic surprises every step of the way.

A joy to behold. Essential.


Buy and stream Big Walnuts Yonder HERE